Like this article?

Recommend it to your friends through these services..

Šušnjevica, Jasenovik, Letaj, and even Brdo and Nova Vas, are places at the foot of the slopes of the Učka mountain. The population is mainly engaged in agriculture and a variety of crafts, but it has also developed an interesting tourist offer. Prehistoric and Roman finds can be seen in the area.

Jasenovik, where only 57 inhabitants live, can be proud of its Romanesque St. Quirinus church whose frescoes were painted by master Albert from 1461.

In the area of Nova Vas is the church of St. Spirit painted by the master Blaž from Dubrovnik, whose figures chronologically belong to the 16th century.

In the picturesque Letaj, the small church of St. James was built in the 16th century, and from the 11th to the 17th century a fortress - a castle – also stood on its territory.

Šušnjevica was first mentioned in 1340, and in 1838 St. John the Baptist’s church was built on the site of the older single-naved church. The cemetery has a chapel dedicated to St. Silvester, a 16th century pope, and the remains of frescoes and Glagolitic graffiti are visible. Šušnjevica is also the centre of Vlach language speakers.